Introductory Workshops

 

FALL INTRODUCTORY WORKSHOPS

Come try your hand at working with clay! These introductory workshops are a great way to see if you like this material. Designed for first-timers, with hands-on instruction. Finished work will be ready for pick-up about one month after the workshop. Choose from Adult Wheelthrowing Intro, Adult Handbuilding Intro, and Date Night Clay.

 

REGISTRATION for these Fall workshops is happening now!

Purchase a workshop through our online shop here starting on Thursday, July 29.

If the workshop you want is already full, you may add your name to a waitlist here.

 

AT-HOME WORKSHOPS

Try out fun clay projects from the comfort of your home! Clay at home workshop purchases include a workshop kit to be picked up from the studio & a link to stream/download an instructional video. Following the video, make works of art at home, then bring them to Mudflat to be fired for finished ceramic pieces! 

Get into the Halloween spirit with our Spooktacular Clay Pumpkins & Ghosts workshop kit! Learn more and purchase your kit here

Clay @ Home Workshop: Spooktacular Clay Pumpkins & Ghosts

 

WHEELTHROWING INTRO

Come try your hand at working with clay on the potter's wheel. Mudflat teacher Lisa Knebel will show you how to use the potter's wheel to make your own pots. Each student will save one pot that they make and it will be glazed and fired. This is a great way to see if you like this approach to working with clay.

Each workshop meets Sundays, 1-4 pm

Tuition: $60.00/workshop

Section A: Sunday, Sept 12 - FULL

Section B: Sunday Sept 26 - FULL

Section C: Sunday, Oct 10 - FULL

Section D: Sunday, Oct 24 - FULL

Section E: Sunday, Nov 7 - FULL

Section F: Sunday, Nov 14 - FULL

Section G: Sunday, Dec 5 - FULL

 

 

HANDBUILDING INTRO

Try working with clay using handbuilding techniques. Mudflat teacher Kate Kuligowski will provide demonstrations and instructions for working with clay slabs and coils on specific projects that you design, build, and decorate. All projects will be glazed and fired.

Each workshop meets Sundays, 1-2:30 pm

Tuition: $40.00/workshop

Section A: Sunday, Sept 19 - Charcuterie Boards

Section B: Sunday, Oct 17 - 2 Triangular Footed Mugs - FULL

Section C: Sunday Nov 21 - Personalized Dog & Cat Bowls - FULL

 

 

DATE NIGHT CLAY

Have a Friday night date in East Somerville! Bring your sweetheart and try your hands at working with clay on the potter's wheel. Mudflat teacher Lisa Knebel will show you how to use the potter's wheel and introduce you to making your own pots. Each student will save one pot that they make and it will be glazed and fired for pick-up at a later date.

Each workshop meets Fridays, 6-8 pm

Tuition: $90 per couple/workshop

Section A: Friday, Sept 17 - FULL

Section B: Friday, Sept 24 - FULL

Section C: Friday, Oct 8 - FULL

Section D: Friday, Oct 22 - FULL

Section E: Friday, Nov 5 - FULL

Section F: Friday, Nov 12 - FULL

Section G: Friday, Dec 10 - FULL

Section H: Friday, Dec 17 - FULL