Introductory Workshops

 

FALL INTRODUCTORY WORKSHOPS

Come try your hand at working with clay! These introductory workshops are a great way to see if you like this material. Designed for first-timers, with hands-on instruction. Finished work will be ready for pick-up about one month after the workshop. Choose from Adult Wheelthrowing Intro, Adult Handbuilding Intro, and Date Night Clay. If the workshop you want is already full, we can add you to a waitlist.

 

REGISTRATION for these Fall workshops will begin on Thursday July 29 at 10 am.

Purchase a workshop through our online shop here starting on Thursday, July 29.

 

WHEELTHROWING INTRO

Come try your hand at working with clay on the potter's wheel. Mudflat teacher Lisa Knebel will show you how to use the potter's wheel to make your own pots. Each student will save one pot that they make and it will be glazed and fired. This is a great way to see if you like this approach to working with clay.

Each workshop meets Sundays, 1-4 pm

Tuition: $60.00/workshop

Section A: Sunday, Sept 12

Section B: Sunday Sept 26

Section C: Sunday, Oct 10

Section D: Sunday, Oct 24

Section E: Sunday, Nov 7

Section F: Sunday, Nov 14

Section G: Sunday, Dec 5

 

 

HANDBUILDING INTRO

Try working with clay using handbuilding techniques. Mudflat teacher Kate Kuligowski will provide demonstrations and instructions for working with clay slabs and coils on specific projects that you design, build, and decorate. All projects will be glazed and fired.

Each workshop meets Sundays, 1-2:30 pm

Tuition: $40.00/workshop

Section A: Sunday, Sept 19 - Clay Cactus Jewelry Holder

Section B: Sunday, Oct 17 - 2 Triangular Footed Mugs

Section C: Sunday Nov 21 - Personalized Dog & Cat Bowls

 

 

DATE NIGHT CLAY

Have a Friday night date in East Somerville! Bring your sweetheart and try your hands at working with clay on the potter's wheel. Mudflat teacher Lisa Knebel will show you how to use the potter's wheel and introduce you to making your own pots. Each student will save one pot that they make and it will be glazed and fired for pick-up at a later date.

Each workshop meets Fridays, 6-8 pm

Tuition: $90 per couple/workshop

Section A: Friday, Sept 17

Section B: Friday, Sept 24

Section C: Friday, Oct 8

Section D: Friday, Oct 22

Section E: Friday, Nov 5

Section F: Friday, Nov 12

Section G: Friday, Dec 10

Section H: Friday, Dec 17